My Super Sweet 16

Genres: Reality



Add to Show Favourites

About the Show

My Super Sweet 16 is an American reality television series produced by MTV Networks documenting the lives of teenagers, primarily in the United States, Canada and UK, who usually have wealthy parents that throw huge coming of age celebrations.

The series premiered in the USA on MTV on 18 January, 2005.

My Super Sweet 16 premiered in South Africa on SABC3 on Saturday 9 April 2011, at 16h00. See "Seasons" below for seasonal broadcast dates and times.

Season 3 premiered on SABC3 on Friday 22 July 2011, at 20h30. New episodes broadcast weekly. There are 11 episodes in the third season.


Watch these rich, spoiled kids get what they want and have a lavish Super Sweet 16 birthday blast! From kids of music legends, or just plain spoiled kids, after you watch an episode, you'll wish you were like them.

My Super Sweet 16 takes you on a wild ride behind the scenes for all the drama, surprises and over-the-top fun as teens prepare for their most important coming-of-age celebrations.

Meet the kids who are determined to go all out to mark this major turning point in their lives, the parents who lavish every wish, and find out first hand what it's really like to turn 16 these days.

Whether a Sweet 16, Quinceaneara or Coming Out, each week My Super Sweet 16 documents one character's outrageous journey as they plot, plan and prep for the party to end all parties.

These kids expect and will only accept the absolute best. Now, it's up to them to make sure jealous siblings, stressed out parents and school rivals don't get in the way.

This series gives you an up close and very personal look at the extravagant and sometimes extreme measures teens take to ensure that this milestone in their lives is commemorated by the ultimate celebration.

Will their real life Sweet 16 ever live up to their fantasies? Blow out 16 candles and step into a world that isn't always as sweet as it seems.

The opening theme is "Sweet Sixteen" sung by Hilary Duff.


Series exclusive to SABC3

Season 1 (4 episodes)

Premiere: 9 April 2011 | Finale: 30 April 2011 | Saturdays, 16h00

Season 2 (9 episodes)

Premiere: 7 May 2011 | Finale: 2 July 2011 | Saturdays, 16h00

Season 3 (11 episodes)

Premiere: 22 July 2011 | Finale: 30 September 2011 | Fridays, 20h30


New on TV today: Thursday 27 January

There's more Chaos in Court in ID, more Love Back on Wethu and two returns on eReality.

Idols SA Season 18 auditions: the what, where, how

No real world auditions again this year so this is what you need to do.

Happy Hearts Teasers - February 2022

The latest teasers for Star Life’s new Legends of the Fall-type series so you have them when you need them.

Arendsvlei Teasers - February 2022

Angel needs a new place to stay, but where will she go?

New on TV today: Wednesday 26 January

Star Life begs you to Never Say Goodbye and eReality shocks you with Ex on the Beach.

Skeem Saam Teasers - February 2022

Eunice remains unemployed. Also, the Café is not for sale!

Droomverlore Teasers - February 2021

Aylin casts a spell over a hapless JJ.

Die Put Teasers - February 2022

Idris looks for his missing son.

New on TV today: Tuesday 25 January

Dirty Jobs returns to Discovery and eReality asks Are You the One?.

Big Brother Mzansi 3 hijacked by marketing

THIS is what happens when a show becomes about selling at the expense of entertainment.


More activity at TVSA Central




You browser doesn't have Flash, Silverlight, Gears, BrowserPlus or HTML5 support.