2024 kykNET Silwerskerm Film and TV Awards - all the TV nominees

Written by TVSA Team from the blog DStv on 05 Jul 2024
Favourite this post

Personality of the Year nominee Avril "Feetjieland" Albetti

kykNET has announced the television nominees for the 2024 Silwerskerm Film and TV Awards which have become an annual event at the end of the Silwerskerm Festival.

The festival's happening in Camps Bay between 28 and 31 August this year and features TV and film masterclasses, panel discussions and screenings of pilot episodes of Afrikaans TV series, feature movies, short films and documentaries.

It used to only include film (for 11 years) but then kykNET realised that movie stars slum it on TV too now and TV was introduced last year.

The whole shebang culminates in an award ceremony at the Cape Town International Convention Centre on the Saturday evening (31 August) which will air on kykNET on Sunday 1 September at 20h00.

The film nominees will only be announced at the end of the festival but these are the TV ones... they're from kykNET and ShowMax Afrikaans shows that aired between April 2023 and 31 March 2024.

They are:

Best Actress in a Drama

Hartklop - Renate Stuurman

Die Byl - Amalia Uys

Die Byl - Milan Murray

Trompoppie - Melissa Myburgh

Koek - Cindy Swanepoel

Best Actor in a Drama

Die Byl - Waldemar Schultz

Die Byl - Marvin-Lee Beukes

Koek - Stian Bam

Koek - Jacques Bessenger

Best Female Supporting Actor in a Drama

Hartklop - Carla Classen

Trompoppie - Marion Holm

Koek - Sandra Prinsloo

Koek - Llandi Beeslaar

Best Male Supporting Actor in a Drama

Hartklop - Jacques Bessenger

Straat - Wilhelm van der Walt

Die Byl - Gershwin Mias

Koek - Dawid Minnaar

Best Actor in a Comedy

Magda Louw - Hannes van Wyk

Lui Maar Op, Belinda - Chris van Niekerk

Taktiek - Bennie Fourie

Taktiek - Schalk Bezuidenhout

Best Actress in a Comedy

Magda Louw - Desiré Gardner

Lui Maar Op, Belinda - Brümilda van Rensburg

Taktiek - Leché Joubert

Taktiek - Marion Holm

Best Supporting Actor and Actress in a Comedy

Magda Louw - Gershwin Mias

Lui Maar Op, Belinda - Annelisa Weiland

Taktiek - Mandri Sutherland

Taktiek - James Borthwick

Best Actress in a Telenovela or Soap

Suidooster - Jill Levenberg

Diepe Waters - Nadia Valvekens

Binnelanders - Je-ani Swiegelaar

Arendsvlei - Jolene Martin

Wyfie - Beáta Green

Best Actor in a Telenovela or Soap

Suidooster - Irvine van der Merwe

Diepe Waters - Justin Strydom

Binnelanders - Hykie Berg

Arendsvlei - Jody Abrahams

Best Supporting Actor and Actress in a Telenovela or Soap

Suidooster - Marco Spaumer

Diepe Waters - Werner Coetser

Binnelanders - Odelle de Wet

Arendsvlei - Bobby Stuurman

Wyfie - Marguerite van Eeden

Best Newcomer in a Telenovela or Soap

Suidooster - Jadon Booysen

Diepe Waters - Diandré Slabbert

Binnelanders - Megan Troskie

Arendsvlei - Talia Davis

Wyfie - Mienke Ehlers

Best Presenter in an Entertainment Programme

Wie Word ’n Miljoenêr? - Rian van Heerden

Kyk Wie Praat - De Klerk Oelofse

My Ma Kook Beter as Joune - Early-B

Sê Jou Sê - Aden Thomas

Best Presenter in a Lifestyle Programme

Ommighellie - Frazer Barry

Elders: Frankryk - Erns Grundling

4 x 4 met André - André de Villiers

Gee My Krag - Konrad Raubenheimer

Hier Gaan Ons Alweer - Petri de Wet

Lottoland: Help ’n Dorp - Leah van Niekerk

La’t Wiel - Hannes Visser

Ysters van die Landgoed - Johnny Davids

Best Presenter in a Reality Programme

In die Sop - Bertus Basson

Kokkedoor: Vuur en Vlam - Bertus Basson and Kobus Botha

Op my eish! - Jo Black

Best Ensemble Presenter Team

eNuus - Jenna-Leigh Bilong, Daniëlla van Heerden, Barron Hufkie, Genée White, Echbert Boezak, Percivale Young

Ontbytsake - Dawie Roodt, Charlene Lackay, Corli Prinsloo, Leon Gropp, Annika de Beer

Die Groot Ontbyt - Pierre Breytenbach, Jennifer Myburgh, Jenna-Leigh Bilong

Kom Ons Praat Daaroor - Annelie Bouwer, Charonike Nel, Tanya de Vente-Bijker

Toks en Tjops - Breyton Paulse, Hamilton Wessels, Rika Nieuwoudt, Rikus de Beer, Janina Oberholzer, Jean de Villiers, Jonathan Mokuena, Jannie du Plessis, Tommy Dickson (Chef Vaatjie)

Best Presenter in a Magazine Programme

Kwêla - Pieter Koen

Bravo! - Ewan Strydom

Prontuit - Kabous Meiring

Klop! - Heindrich Wyngaard

Medies - Darren Green

Best Presenter in a Documentary Reality Programme

Grondpad Geloof - Dana Snyman

Hougaard: Liefling van Loftus - Rian van Heerden

Best Presenter in a Talk Show

Roer - Alfred Adriaan

KoppieTeeFontein - Jak de Priester

Hannes aan Huis - Hannes van Wyk

Laataand by Rian - Rian van Heerden

Best Presenter in a Current Affairs Programme

In Gesprek - Lourensa Eckard

Grootplaas - Mia Slabbert

Wie’s Nuus? - Mia Spies

Sakegesprek met Theo Vorster - Theo Vorster
Personality of the Year

This category is somewhat confusing because the info about it says:
While an independent panel of experts are deliberating on the Personality of the Year category winner, kykNET viewers can also nominate favourites.

We interpret it to mean that viewer votes won't necessarily decide the winner but will be taken into consideration when the panel deliberates. 

You can vote on the kykNET website here: Personality of the Year


Avril Albetti - Die Brug
(Our choice for how she made us chortle and the fact that her concept of Feetjieland (Fairyland) has become part of our vocabulary.)

Brendan Peyper - Op my eish!

Rachelle Fourie - Op my eish!

Derick Hougaard - Hougaard - Liefling van Loftus

 Anita Lloyd - Die Real Housewives van die Wynlande

Karen Els and Gert Joubert - winners of Kokkedoor: Vuur en Vlam

Voting opened on 5 July and closes on 5 August.

Channels in this post: kykNET, kykNET & kie, ShowMax


Only TVSA members can reply to this thread. Click here to login or register.


New on TV today: Saturday 13 July 2024

MasterChef SA returns on new home S3 and a third season of Ranch to Table begins on Food Network.

Gallery! Queen Modjadji premiere pix

Queen of the carpet. Our award for Best Dressed goes to series star Makoma Mohale, as it should be.

Uzalo Teasers - August 2024

Nkunzi finds a hobby that heals his soul. And Mondli lies lifeless on the ground...

New on TV today: Friday 12 July 2024

Local comedy night: The Morning After drops on Prime Video and Roomies begins on Mzansi Magic.

First look: new crime thriller Cross

City on a Hill star Aldis Hott... oops we mean Hodge, headlines with shirt on/shirt off.

Generations: The Legacy Teasers - August 2024

Wedding preparations begin, a shebeen party goes horribly wrong and Jozi is aflutter with big news.

New on TV today: Thursday 11 July 2024

Wethu kicks off Fixing the Game: Junior Khanye and S3 reveals Secrets of Sugar Baby Dating.

Scandal! extends to seven days a week after Skeem Saam invasion

Still at 19h30. It should have moved to 20h30 instead. Picture the headlines.

Suidooster Teasers - August 2024

Rhafiek wants nothing more to do with Mymoena and it breaks her heart.

New on TV today: Wednesday 10 July 2024

Dark comedy Sunny drops on Apple TV+ and sports docuseries Receiver is new on Netflix.


More activity at TVSA Central




You browser doesn't have Flash, Silverlight, Gears, BrowserPlus or HTML5 support.