Diff'rent Strokes

Genres: Comedy



Add to Show Favourites


Diff'rent Strokes is an American television sitcom created by Jeff Harris and Bernie Kukoff which stars Gary Coleman as Arnold Jackson and Todd Bridges as his older brother, Willis, two African-American children from a poor Harlem neighbourhood whose deceased mother previously worked for a rich white widower who eventually adopted them.

The series originally aired in the USA on NBC from 1978-1985 and on ABC from 1985-1986. There are 189 half-hour episodes in eight seasons.

Diff'rent Strokes originally aired in South Africa on TV1 (now SABC1) in the 1980s. The series premiered on DStv's M-Net Series channel on Saturday 27 September 2008, at 20h30. See "Seasons" below for seasonal broadcast dates and times.

Season 4 premiered on M-Net Series on Saturday 23 October 2010, at 20h00. New episodes broadcast weekly. There are 26 episodes in the fourth season.


Sundays: 02h00, 08h00, 14h00


Diff'rent Strokes takes place in New York and centres around the happenings in the Drummond household.

Philip Drummond was a widower and had a daughter, Kimberly. He was also quite wealthy and lived in the penthouse of a luxurious apartment building. His wealth was due to the fact that he was the president of Trans Allied, Inc.

However, the household was shaken up when Drummond's black housekeeper died and her deathbed wish was that he would take care of her two sons, Arnold and Willis Jackson. So, Drummond took both of them in and they became the sons Drummond never had.

Others in the cast include Mrs. Garrett the new housekeeper who later left for her own series, The Facts of Life. She was replaced by Adelaide, who was seen occasionally and she was later replaced by Pearl.

In the seventh season, Drummond wed an aerobics instructor, Maggie McKinney and she moved in with her son, Sam, from a previous marriage.


Note: these details are for the run of the show on M-Net Series only. Broadcast dates for the original run of the show on the SABC are not available.

Season 1 (24 episodes)

Premiere: 27 September 2008 | Finale: 7 March 2009 | Saturdays, 20h30

Season 2 (26 episodes)

Premiere: 18 April 2009 | Finale: 10 October 2009 | Saturdays, 20h30/19h30

Season 3 (22 episodes)

Premiere: 17 October 2009 | Finale: 13 March 2010 | Saturdays, 19h30

Season 4 (26 episodes)

Premiere: 23 October 2010 | Finale: 16 April 2011 | Saturdays, 20h00


New on TV today: Friday 21 February

Netflix has a new Spanglish comedy-drama called Gentefied and survival series Alone returns to eReality.

Lithapo Teasers - March 2020

Tselane saves Zano from a thug-attack, they share a near kiss and get close.

Muvhango Teasers - March 2020

Battle lines are drawn in the war for the throne!

New on TV today: Thursday 20 February

A new season of One Day Leader starts on SABC1 and BBC Lifestyle debuts Grand Designs: The Street.

The Queen: Close-up on the Therons and other new characters

A mad ex-husband, his ratty uncle and Mjekejeke's dearest daughter... the 411 on The Queen's newcomers.

Idols SA: How to enter Season 16's new online auditions

If you have internet access, you can enter from anywhere in the country.

New on TV today: Wednesday 19 February

It's thriller night with Jett and Prodigal Son starting on M-Net; and Cold Call on ITV.

Top Shows on TV: January 2020

Load shedding hit Mzansi's Big Four shows hard in January with a plunge of 3.5 million viewers between them.

Scandal! Teasers - March 2020

Thembeka's plan is in full swing when Xolile and Romeo finally return.

New on TV today: Tuesday 18 February

The BRIT Awards 2020 air live on BBC Brit and Discovery investigates the Unexplained & Unexplored.


More activity at TVSA Central




You browser doesn't have Flash, Silverlight, Gears, BrowserPlus or HTML5 support.