One Way

Genres: Drama



Add to Show Favourites


One Way is a South African television drama series produced by LightBox Entertainment which delves into the lives of four families, exploring various themes of love: romantic love, parental love, sibling love, old love and new love.

The series aired on SABC3 from 21 June, 2006 to 5 July, 2007. The first season aired on Wednesdays at 20h31; the second season aired on Thursdays at 21h30.

There are 22 half-hour episodes in the series. See "Seasons" below for seasonal broadcast dates and times.


One Way is a drama series that takes us behind the walls of suburban South Africa. The drama delves into the lives of four families, exploring various themes of love: romantic love, parental love, sibling love, old love and new love.

The series displays the changing social landscape of our country: established families who have lived in the suburb for many years encounter new neighbours who may not necessarily share their point of view.

One Way is set in a town house complex, which provides apparent security and comfort - where it seems that nothing can go wrong. But beneath the pleasantly suburban facade and high walls lies deeper truths, which only families will ever know.

One Way lifts the roofs of these homes and peeps inside the lives of four very different families.

The Cilliers Family

Allison, a bored housewife obsessed with perfection, and Jonathan, a high-powered attorney, have forgotten why they got married in the first place after a 20-year marriage.

Each are so wrapped up in the importance of social hierarchy and career advancement they do not realise the struggles of their own family - right under their very roof, as their children, Brian and Jessica, are slowly spinning out of control.

The Phute Family

After winning custody of his 12-year old son, Daniel fights family and work pressures to maintain the perception of the perfect father and home keeper.

However, son Tsepho refuses to acknowledge a man he hardly knows as his father and struggles with readjusting to a new life in the big city away from everything he has ever known.

This fragile family bond is further complicated by the arrival of Daniel's mother Moretua, a woman who knows her mind and usually has her way!

The Cottage

Michael and Brent have been best friends for as long as each of them can remember. However, when Michael falls for Kay, the girl he believes is "the one", the friendship starts to crumble.

Unable to understand why he is losing his best friend to this invader, Brent begins to rebel. Michael is put in the position of having to choose between his best friend and his lover.

One wants his past, the other his future. In a tug of war, there is rarely a stalemate.

Thabang and Felicia

When Thabang and Felicia move into their new, quiet suburban home in Johannesburg, the sense of community is a lot more than they bargained for. Thabang believes he has it all - a new home, a new job, a loving girlfriend - the perfect life!

However, when Thabang realises feelings of lust for a friend he battles to keep up the perfect relationship. Denying the truths of the heart is an impossible task.


Season 1
Premiere: 21 June 2006 | Finale: 13 September 2006 | Wednesdays, 20h31 | Episodes: 13

Season 2
Premiere: 10 May 2007 | Finale: 5 July 2007 | Thursdays, 21h30 | Episodes: 9


More activity at TVSA Central




You browser doesn't have Flash, Silverlight, Gears, BrowserPlus or HTML5 support.