Grounded for Life

Genres: Comedy



Add to Show Favourites


Grounded for Life is an American television sitcom created by Bill Martin and Mike Schiff and set in an Irish neighbourhood of Staten Island, New York which features the comedic interplay between a family in which the parents are young and torn between wanting to be responsible and to rediscover their wild youth.

The series aired in the USA on Fox (the first two seasons) and The WB (the last three seasons) from 10 January, 2001 to 28 January, 2005. There are 91 half-hour episodes in five seasons.

The series originally aired in South Africa on M-Net from 4 September, 2001 to 11 October, 2005, on Tuesdays at 18h30. It later aired on DStv's Comedy Central channel. See "Seasons" below for seasonal broadcast dates and times.

Season 5 premiered on Comedy Central on Friday 4 May 2012, at 16h35. Thereafter new episodes broadcast at 16h10 in a double bill daily, on weekdays. There are 13 episodes in the fifth and final season.


Right out of high school, Sean Finnerty got his girlfriend Claudia pregnant.

Now she's his wife and at just 32, he's somehow found himself with 14-year-old daughter Lily, two little boys, Jimmy and Henry, and a constant struggle between his need to be responsible and his desperate desire to be irresponsible.

His judgmental father Walt and devil-may-care brother Eddie are no help at all. When they all get together, stories always start to fly.

Of course, Sean's family will never let him finish a story – they interrupt, they debate, they derail, they defend themselves – just like any good family would.


Season 1 (15 episodes)

Channel: M-Net | Premiere: 4 Sep 2001 | Finale: 11 Dec 2001 | Tuesdays, 18h30
Channel: Comedy Central | Premiere: 12 Mar 2012 | Finale: 21 Mar 2012 | Weekdays, 19h40

Season 2 (22 episodes)

Channel: M-Net | Premiere: 16 Jul 2002 | Finale: 18 Mar 2003 | Tuesdays, 18h30
Channel: Comedy Central | Premiere: 22 Mar 2012 | Finale: 5 Apr 2012 | Weekdays, 19h40

Season 3 (13 episodes)

Channel: M-Net | Premiere: 20 Jan 2004 | Finale: 25 May 2004 | Tuesdays, 18h30
Channel: Comedy Central | Premiere: 6 Apr 2012 | Finale: 16 Apr 2012 | Weekdays, 19h40

Season 4 (28 episodes)

Channel: M-Net | Premiere: 8 Feb 2005 | Finale: 5 Jul 2005 | Tuesdays, 18h30
Channel: Comedy Central | Premiere: 16 Apr 2012 | Finale: 4 May 2012 | Weekdays, 19h40

Season 5 (13 episodes)

Channel: M-Net | Premiere: 12 Jul 2005 | Finale: 11 Oct 2005 | Tuesdays, 18h30
Channel: Comedy Central | Premiere: 4 May 2012 | Finale: 14 May 2012 | Weekdays, 16h10


All about Telemundo's new novela Law of the Heart

Sexy shenanigans and real life cases at a firm that handles family law.

New! Law of the Heart Teasers - February 2021

Introducing the first teasers for Telemundo's new legal eagle romantic drama...

Getroud met Rugby Teasers - February 2021

The mystery about Jana’s disappearance is solved but another person also goes missing!

New on TV today: Tuesday 19 January

Mzansi Magic helps orphans who were Abandoned as drama Swartwater returns to SABC2.

The Bachelorette SA: what long hair on men REALLY means

Impressions on the show's first bachelors.

Binnelanders Teasers - February 2021

Tensions rise in Harare - in particular, in one hotel room.

New on TV today: Monday 18 January

eExtra debuts the telenovela As Die Skoen Pas and Stephen King's The Stand starts on M-Net.

New on TV today: Sunday 17 January

SABC1 searches for The Next Big Thing and SABC3 discovers a Wild Metropolis.

New on TV today: Saturday 16 January

Discovery documents California wildfires in Cal Fire and comedy Grown-ish starts on

Scandal! Teasers - February 2021

Judgement day for Dintle! Also, some bed-breaking...


More activity at TVSA Central




You browser doesn't have Flash, Silverlight, Gears, BrowserPlus or HTML5 support.