Beyond Belief: Fact or Fiction

Genres: Science Fiction, Supernatural, Anthology Series



Add to Show Favourites


Beyond Belief: Fact or Fiction is an American science fiction and paranormal anthology series created by Lynn Lehmann and produced by Dick Clark Productions in which each episode features five stories, all of which appear to defy logic, and some of which are allegedly based on actual events.

The viewer is offered the challenge of determining which are true and which are false. At the end of the show, it was revealed to the viewer whether the tales are true or works of fiction.

The majority of stories were adapted from published, and previously unpublished, original material that had been written and researched by author Robert Tralins.

The series aired in the USA on Fox from 25 May, 1997 to 5 September, 2002. There are 45 hour-long episodes in four seasons.

Beyond Belief: Fact or Fiction premiered in South Africa on DStv's Sony Entertainment Television (SONY) channel on Saturday 17 April 2010, at 18h50. See "Seasons" below for seasonal broadcast dates and times.

Season 4 premiered on SONY on Sunday 10 April 2011, at 18h45. New episodes broadcast weekly. There are 13 episodes in the fourth and final season.


Do you sometimes find that truth is stranger than fiction? If so, the cult mystery series Beyond Belief will send a shiver of déjà vu recognition down your spine.

Each episode features five fascinating, unusual and often downright bizarre stories that beggar belief and defy logic.

These mind-boggling accounts usually have some connection with supernatural phenomena, creepy coincidences or unlikely twists of fate.

You will be challenged to figure out which of these wildly improbable yarns are tall tales and which are based on true events – and all will be revealed at the end of each episode.


Series exclusive to SONY

Season 1 (6 episodes)

Premiere: 17 April 2010 | Finale: 22 May 2010 | Saturdays, 18h50

Season 2 (13 episodes)

Premiere: 29 May 2010 | Finale: 21 August 2010 | Saturdays, 18h50

Season 3 (13 episodes)

Premiere: 8 January 2011 | Finale: 2 April 2011 | Saturdays, 19h30

Season 4 (13 episodes)

Premiere: 10 April 2011 | Finale: 3 July 2011 | Sundays, 18h45


Big Brother Mzansi 3: all your show times

Includes Shower Hour, with BIG Big Brother.

Generations: The Legacy Teasers - February 2022

Sphe feels like the new man in her life is too good to be true.

New on TV today: Wednesday 19 January

Odd doc The Wolfpack airs on S3 and delish competish The Globe begins on Food Network.

New! Dream Girl Teasers - January 2022

Introducing the first teasers for Star Life's new star struck series about an actress who wants to make it big in Bollywood.

The Estate on SABC1 Teasers - February 2022

Muzi and Lwandle make a harrowing discovery.

Days of Our Lives Teasers - February 2022

Xander is released and Ciara is kidnapped by an unexpected person.

Legacy on Me Teasers - February 2022

Willem spirals out of control. Will a man get between the sisters?

New on TV today: Tuesday 18 January

Curiosity uncovers Egypt's Unexplained Files and Nat Geo unpacks Hitler's American Battleground.

Legacy 2 Teasers - February 2022

A Price leaves Legacy! And Sanele has a hot new man.

The River 3 on Mzansi Magic Teasers - February 2022

Kedibone is tortured by her past.


More activity at TVSA Central




You browser doesn't have Flash, Silverlight, Gears, BrowserPlus or HTML5 support.