The Metro FM Music Awards

Genres: Music, Award Shows, Specials



Add to Show Favourites


Season 8

The Metro FM Awards (MMAs) is an annual South African music awards ceremony hosted by radio station Metro FM which honours local artists who've contributed significantly to the local music industry in the preceding year.

The awards were established in 2000 and are broadcast annually as a TV special on SABC1.

The 8th annual Metro FM Music Awards took place at Kings Beach in Port Elizabeth on Saturday, 24 November, with Metro FM DJ Penny Lebyane and Street Journal presenter Siyabonga Ngwekazi as hosts.

The 8th Annual Metro FM Awards were broadcast on SABC1 on Saturday 1 December 2006, at 22h30. The special was 90 minutes long.

2007 Winners

Best Male Vocalist

Loyiso Bala - Blow your mind
Ringo - Ndim Lo
Danny K - This is my time
Lesego - My Music
Vusi Mahlasela - Guiding Star

Best Female Vocalist

Siphokazi - Ubuntu bam
Lira - Feel good
Simphiwe Dana - One love movement
Nhlanhla Nciza - Inguquko
Gugu Shezi - Gugu lam

Best R&B Album

Loyiso - Blow your mind
Danny K - This is my time
Claire Phillips - Say my name
Tumi - No guarantee
Malik - Bekezela

Best African Pop Album

Malaika - Sekunjalo
Mafikizolo - Six Mabone
Freshlyground - Macheri
Nhlanhla Nciza - Inguquko
Ntando - Uhambo lwam

Best Kwaito Album

L'vovo - L'vovo
Bricks - Estokfeleni
Tzozo & Professor - Togetherness
Trompies - Can't touch this
Housa - Cut to the chase

Best Hip Hop Album

Jozi - Motherland Crunk
Tuks - MC Prayer
Flabba - Nkuli vs Flabba
Tumi - Music form my good eye
Proverb - Manuscript

Best Gospel Album

Soweto Gospel Choir - African Spirit
Rebecca Malope - Amakholwa
Lusanda Spiritual Group - Ndiphakathi
Ntokozo - Keep on believing
Vuyokazi - Thabatha

Best Jazz Album

Jimmy Dludlu - Portrait
Lira - Feel good
Don Laka - The invitation
Marcus Wyatt - Language 12
Simphiwe Dana - One love movement on Bantu Biko Street

Best Group Album

Jozi - Motherland Crunk
Freshlyground - Macheri
Malaika - Sekunjalo
Mafikizolo - Six Mabone
Ntjapedi - Hae hlolwe ke sabata

Best Compilation Album

Oskido - 6th Commandment
C'ndo - The finest lady volume 1
DJ Sbu - Ylens volume 1
Revolution - 4 U
Dedee - UDedee usebenzile

Best Produced Album

Freshlyground - Macheri
Lira - Feel good
Simphiwe Dana - One love movement...
Don Laka - The invitation
Siphokazi - Ubuntu bam

Best Styled Artist/Group

Danny K - This is my time
Kwela Tebza - King Kwela
Nhlanhla Nciza - Inguquko
Loyiso - Blow your mind
Iko Mash - Funda kimi

Best Newcomer

Zonke - Love life and music
Siphokazi - Ubuntu Bam
Ayanda - Music 2 me
Jozi - Motherland Crunk
Tumi - No Guarantee

Best Dance Album

DJ Kentphonik - Kentphonik
Black coffee - Have another one
DJ Cleo - Eskhaleni Phase 4
Soul Candy - DJ's Electrocandi
Bongi Dube - Ngifuna wena

Song of the Year

L'vovo - Bayang'sukela
Lira - Feel good
Zonke - Ekhaya
Tzozo & Professor - Amantombazana
Jozi - What's with the attitude

About the MMAs

The Metro FM Music Awards are a special honour given to local artists who've contributed significantly to the local music industry. The artists recognised in 2008 had to have released their albums between September 23, 2007 and September 22, 2008.

Recording companies and artists are requested to send in release dates for their artists' albums and those dates must fall within the window period specified, to qualify for the MMA. An independent panel of judges then places these submissions within the 17 categories.

It is after this process that each panel members casts his/her vote, which they then hand over to an SABC Group Internal Audit representative at the voting session.

There is only one person from Metro FM who sits on the panel of 7 judges. The other panelists comprise of music industry experts and credible journalists.

It is after this process that a nomination list of five artists per category is released to the public, to vote for their favourite artists via sms. The top three artists with the most votes are then announced as finalists.

The public is again informed of this and they then vote for the top artists who will walk away with the coveted MMA in each category.

Related Articles

2007 Metro FM Awards Nominees
2007 Metro FM Awards Pics
2008 Metro FM Music Awards Winners
2010 MMAs To Air On SABC 1, Mid-December
2010 Metro FM Music Awards: Winners Who's Who
2011 Metro FM Awards Nominees
Countdown to the 2011 Metro FM Awards
2011 Metro FM Music Awards - all the winners
The Metro FM Awards - An Epic Rendezvouz!
2011 Metro FM Awards - More Pictures

Season 8 Cast

Host - Herself

Host - Himself


New on TV today: Wednesday 28 October

The BET Hip Hop Awards 2020 air on BET and the Tournament of Champions starts on Food Network.

Maid in Manhattan on eExtra Teasers - November 2020

Series finale! A hostage situation and then a wedding situation!

Die Presidentsvrou Teasers - November 2020

Angel confesses his love to Luciana and she tells him it's over.

Durban Gen Teasers - November 2020

Baby daddy drama. Also, the fight for Mbali ends badly.

New on TV today: Tuesday 27 October

Horror series Castle Rock returns to M-Net City and a Waka & Tammy docuseries starts on 1Magic.

Legacy Teasers - November 2020

Stefan spins out of control and puts his family in danger.

Arendsvlei Teasers - November 2020

Something dark is luuuurking in the shadows. Will it affect a new love?

New on TV today: Monday 26 October

Returning series tonight include The Chi on 1Magic and Growing up Hip Hop: Atlanta on Vuzu.

Idols 16: It's not to be for Be

One week you're In and the next you're Out.

New on TV today: Sunday 25 October

Voetspore: Re√ľnie starts on kykNET and Strictly Come Dancing returns to BBC Brit.


More activity at TVSA Central




You browser doesn't have Flash, Silverlight, Gears, BrowserPlus or HTML5 support.