Ultimate Survival

Genres: Action/Adventure, Reality, Documentary Series



Add to Show Favourites


Season 1

Ultimate Survival (known in the USA as Man vs. Wild and in the UK as Born Survivor: Bear Grylls), is a British reality television series produced by Diverse Bristol in which survival expert Bear Grylls demonstrates and narrates techniques for wilderness survival in regions around the globe.

The series premiered in the USA on the Discovery channel on 10 November, 2006. There are four seasons to date.

Ultimate Survival premiered in South Africa on DStv's Discovery Channel on Saturday 16 June 2007, at 21h00. See "Seasons" below for seasonal broadcast dates and times.

The first season of Ultimate Survival aired on Discovery Channel from 16 June to 11 August, 2007, on Saturdays at 21h00. There are 15 episodes in the first season.

Season 1

British mountaineer and adventurist Bear Grylls travels the globe, revealing fundamental survival skills needed to endure some of the most extreme places on Earth, from the European Alps to Utah's Mohab Desert.

After serving in the British Army Special Forces unit, Bear became the youngest British man to climb Mount Ama Dablan and Mount Everest.

Ultimate Survival sees Bear putting himself through conditions unimaginable to the average man, risking his health and often coming face to face with death.

The series sees him parachute into the Costa Rican rainforest to demonstrate how to stay alive and find civilisation when lost deep in the heart of the jungle.

From South America to Alaska, Bear heads to the Chugach Mountains where he shows how to survive extreme mountain slopes and treacherous ice flows.

Bear demonstrates how to survive the Pacific Ocean, encountering rip currents and relentless surf, whilst coming face to face with sharks.


Season 1 (15 episodes)

Premiere: 16 June 2007 | Finale: 22 September 2007 | Saturdays, 21h00

Season 2 (13 episodes)

Premiere: 16 June 2008 | Finale: 8 September 2008 | Mondays, 21h00

Season 3 (12 episodes)

Premiere: 30 March 2009 | Finale: 15 June 2009 | Mondays, 21h00

Season 4 (13 episodes)

Premiere: 9 November 2009 | Finale: 28 December 2009 | Mondays, 22h00

Season 1 Cast

Host - Himself


Scandal! Teasers - June 2022

The Kubekas are in trouble and Omphile reveals secret truths.

New on TV today: Monday 16 May

Comedy-drama The Bisexual is new on S3 as M-Net searches for The Time Traveler's Wife.

New on TV today: Sunday 15 May

CBS Justice dives into the Lovers' Lane Murders, as Discovery follows the Bee Czar.

New on TV today: Saturday 14 May

Bettany Hughes' Treasures of the World starts on BBC Earth as SABC1 goes A Cut Above the Rest.

Elif 3 Teasers - June 2022

Serdar's life is falling apart.

Getroud met Rugby Teasers - June 2022

Kristien is missing!

New on TV today: Friday 13 May

Period drama The Essex Serpent launches on Apple TV+ and Mash-Up Our Home is new on HGTV.

KykNET & Kie jumps on the Afrikaans-dubbed Turkish novela bandwagon

They're starting with these two shows while eExtra's future on DStv remains in question.

2022 MTV Movie & TV Awards - all the nominees

Notably missing: Yellow Jackets!

Emperor Ashoka Teasers - May 2022

Ashoka and Sushim want to kill each other. Also, Ashoka finds a cave full of cash!


More activity at TVSA Central




You browser doesn't have Flash, Silverlight, Gears, BrowserPlus or HTML5 support.