The Unit

Genres: Action/Adventure, Drama



Add to Show Favourites


The Unit is an American action-drama television series created by David Mamet that focuses on a top-secret military unit modeled after the real life Delta Force, featuring both the domestic lives of the team members and their missions abroad, in addition to the effect their careers have on their home lives, wives and girlfriends.

The series aired in the USA on CBS from 7 March, 2006 to 10 May, 2009. There are 69 hour-long episodes in four seasons.

The Unit premiered in South Africa on SABC1 on Monday 16 April 2007, at 22h00. It later aired on SABC2, beginning with Season 3. See "Seasons" below for seasonal broadcast dates and times.

Season 3 premiered on SABC2 on Saturday 14 July 2012, at 22h00, although episodes broadcast at 23h30 on 28 July, 4 and 11 August due to coverage of the Olympics. New episodes broadcast weekly. There are 11 episodes in the third season.


From Executive Producers David Mamet and Shawn Ryan, The Unit is an action drama that follows a covert team of Special Forces operatives as they risk their lives on undercover missions around the globe, while their families maintain the home front, protecting their husbands' secrets.

Jonas Blane (Dennis Haysbert) leads the Unit on missions out in the field and is responsible for taking new recruit Bob Brown (Scott Foley) under his wing.

The Unit includes Jonas, Colonel Tom Ryan (Robert Patrick), Mack Gerhardt (Max Martini), Charles Grey (Michael Irby), Hector Williams (Demore Barnes) and Bob Brown, all highly skilled, trustworthy, brave and dependable soldiers whose ability to rely on each other is what creates their brotherhood.

Jonas' wife, Molly (Regina Taylor), is the base matriarch who comforts and counsels the other wives as they cope with the fear and uncertainty they experience when their husbands leave home.

Molly and Tiffy Gerhardt (Abby Brammell), a wife hiding her own dark secrets, help Bob's pregnant wife, Kim (Audrey Marie Anderson), acclimate to the stress of her new secret life.


Note: only the first three seasons aired on SABC1. The first two seasons did not air on SABC2.

Season 1 (13 episodes)

Channel: SABC1 | Premiere: 16 Apr 2007 | Finale: 9 Jul 2007 | Mondays, 22h00

Season 2 (23 episodes)

Channel: SABC1 | Premiere: 15 Sep 2008 | Finale: 16 Feb 2009 | Mondays, 22h00

Season 3 (11 episodes)

Channel: SABC1 | Premiere: 21 Mar 2011 | Finale: 30 May 2011 | Mondays, 22h00
Channel: SABC2 | Premiere: 14 Jul 2012 | Finale: 22 Sep 2012 | Saturdays, 22h00


New on TV today: Friday 30 July

Star Life tells An Unusual Tale and The Masked Singer returns to M-Net.

Survivor SA: Immunity Island Recap - Episode 9

Four key revelations were revealed and pizza never looked so good.

Scandal! draws the curtains on new family: the Kubekas

What will the neighbours say about them?

Stiletto Vendetta 2 Teasers - August 2021

New season alert! Oya struggles with Edip's death.

Stiletto Vendetta Teasers - August 2021

Season 1 finale alert! The ladies of the neighbourhood confront each other in a final epic battle.

New on TV today: Thursday 29 July

Three shows return: Manifest on M-Net, The Kitchen on Food Network and Utatakho on Wethu.

The River 4 on 1Magic Teasers - August 2021

The Mokoena household gets news that shakes them up.

Skeem Saam Teasers - August 2021

Meikie returns and deals with lots of drama! Also: a wedding.

Sacred Relationships Teasers - August 2021

Series finale! It's a wrap on Sunday 1 August.

My Identity Teasers - August 2021

Finale alert! The story ends in a triple whammy on Monday 3 August.


More activity at TVSA Central




You browser doesn't have Flash, Silverlight, Gears, BrowserPlus or HTML5 support.