The Adventures of Merlin

Genres: Drama, Fantasy



Add to Show Favourites


The Adventures of Merlin (also known simply as Merlin) is a British fantasy drama television series created and produced by Julian Murphy, Johnny Capps, Jake Michie and Julian Jones which is based on the Arthurian legends of the mythical wizard Merlin and his relationship with Prince Arthur, differing significantly from traditional versions of the myth.

The series aired in the UK on BBC One from 20 September, 2008 to 24 December, 2012. There are 65 hour-long episodes in five seasons.

The series premiered in South Africa on M-Net on Saturday 2 January 2009, at 19h00. It later aired on DStv's M-Net HD channel and on TopTV's Top One channel. It was moved to DStv's M-Net Series channel for Season 4. See "Seasons" below for seasonal broadcast dates and times.

Season 5 premiered on M-Net Series on Saturday 30 March 2013, at 2013. New episodes broadcast weekly. There are 13 episodes in the fifth and final season.


The mythical city of Camelot, in a time before history began. A fantastical realm of legendary beasts and mysterious peoples. A dangerous world in which magic has been banned by the ruthless tyrant, Uther Pendragon.

When Merlin, a young man gifted with extraordinary magical powers, arrives in the kingdom, he quickly makes enemies, including the heir to Uther's crown, the headstrong Prince Arthur.

But guided by Uther's wise physician, Gaius, Merlin is soon using his talents not just to survive but also to unlock Camelot's mystical secrets.

As he does so he discovers that his destiny and that of the kingdom’s young leader in waiting, Arthur, are inextricably linked.

Starring Colin Morgan as Merlin, Bradley James as Prince Arthur, Anthony Head as King Uther, Richard Wilson as Gaius, Katie McGrath as Morgana and Angel Coulby as Gwen, The Adventures of Merlin is an imaginative and enthralling new twist on a legend that is as old as time.

Produced by the award-winning team behind Hex and Sugar Rush, Julian Murphy, Johnny Capps, Jake Michie and Julian Jones, and directed by James Hawes, the series is an epic, magical, adventure-packed drama designed to appeal to all the family.


Season 1 (13 episodes)

Channel: M-Net | Premiere: 2 Jan 2010 | Finale: 27 Mar 2010 | Saturdays, 19h00
Channel: Top One | Premiere: 25 Jun 2011 | Finale: 6 Aug 2011 | Saturdays, 17h00

Season 2 (13 episodes)

Channel: M-Net | Premiere: 7 Aug 2010 | Finale: 30 Oct 2010 | Saturdays, 19h00
Channel: M-Net HD | Premiere: 7 Aug 2010 | Finale: 30 Oct 2010 | Saturdays, 19h00
Channel: Top One | Premiere: 8 May 2012 | Finale: 31 Jul 2012 | Tuesdays, 19h00

Season 3 (13 episodes)

Channel: M-Net | Premiere: 8 Apr 2011 | Finale: 1 Jul 2011 | Fridays, 18h30
Channel: M-Net HD | Premiere: 8 Apr 2011 | Finale: 1 Jul 2011 | Fridays, 18h30

Season 4 (13 episodes)

Channel: M-Net Series | Premiere: 10 Dec 2011 | Finale: 3 Mar 2012 | Saturdays, 21h30

Season 5 (13 episodes)

Channel: M-Net Series | Premiere: 30 Mar 2013 | Finale: 22 Jun 2013 | Saturdays, 20h30


New on TV today: Saturday 11 July

Somizi & Mohale: The Union comes to Wethu, the final season of Supernatural starts on M-Net City and Khabodacious returns to SABC2.

2020 SAMAs: Music Video and Record of the Year nominees

The SAMA public voting categories have been announced and the choice of Best Video cannot be taken lightly.

The Bold and the Beautiful on Eva Teasers - August 2020

Is there hope to find out who is threatening Hope?

Wild Skin Teasers - August 2020

Camila prevents a shooting. Also, a hit-man is hired.

Rebel in Love Teasers - August 2020

Finale alert! Agustin and Gracia go from being in cahoots to warnings being given.

New on TV today: Friday 10 July

Join 1Magic for Dinner at Somizi's or Nat Geo to uncover Lost Treasures of the Maya.

Rhythm Cityzens take on Scandal! on Family Feud South Africa

They're wrapped between Steve Harvey this Sunday, 12 July. See who's competing.

Catch-up with Iron Rose star Aracely Arámbula

From Season 1 to Season 2. Telemundo's Iron Rose gives us her take on Altagracia's inner world across seasons.

New on TV today: Thursday 9 July

Sketch show Famalam starts on SABC2 and Investigation Discovery dips a toe into Southern Gothic.

Brave Love Teasers - August 2020

Finale alert! One episode remains. Karma strikes Inés.


More activity at TVSA Central




You browser doesn't have Flash, Silverlight, Gears, BrowserPlus or HTML5 support.