The Six Million Dollar Man

Genres: Action/Adventure, Science Fiction



Add to Show Favourites

About the Show

The Six Million Dollar Man is an American science fiction television series created by Kenneth Johnson and based on the novel Cyborg by Martin Caidin, about a fictional cyborg working for the OSI (which was usually said to refer to the Office of Scientific Intelligence, but sometimes was called the Office of Scientific Investigation as well as the Office of Strategic Intelligence).

The series aired in the USA on ABC from 18 January, 1974 to 6 March, 1978. There are 112 hour-long episodes in five seasons (12 of the episodes were originally six made-for-TV movies, which were later divided in two and included as regular episodes in syndication).

The series originally aired in South Africa on TV2 in the early 1980s, on Saturday afternoons. It was broadcast in Afrikaans as Steve Austin: Die Man van Staal (translated literally as Steve Austin: The Man of Steel) and was simulcast in English on Radio 2000.

The Six Million Dollar Man premiered on TopTV's Fox Retro channel on Monday 3 May 2010, at 16h45. See "Seasons" below for seasonal broadcast dates and times.

Season 5 premiered on Fox Retro on Tuesday 24 May 2011, at 18h25. New episodes broadcast daily, on weekdays. There are 21 episodes in the fifth and final season.


Air Force Colonel Steve Austin, an astronaut who had walked on the moon, is almost fatally injured in a plane crash.

Many of his damaged parts are replaced by experimental bionic limbs, including his right arm, his left eye, and both legs. These bionics give him superpowers such as increased speed and strength and the ability to see long distances.

To pay the U.S. Government back the $6,000,000 it cost to rebuild him, Austin goes to work for the Office of Scientific Investigation as an agent, investigating foreign spies, mad scientists, bombers, space aliens and even Bigfoot.


Note: these details are for the run of the show on Fox Retro only. Broadcast dates for the original run of the show on the SABC are not available.

Season 1 (19 episodes)

Premiere: 3 May 2010 | Finale: 27 May 2010 | Weekdays, 16h45

Season 2 (22 episodes)

Premiere: 28 May 2010 | Finale: 28 June 2010 | Weekdays, 16h45

Season 3 (22 episodes)

Premiere: 6 July 2010 | Finale: 9 August 2010 | Weekdays, 16h45

Season 4 (22 episodes)

Premiere: 30 September 2010 | Finale: 29 October 2010 | Weekdays, 16h45

Season 5 (21 episodes)

Premiere: 24 May 2011 | Finale: 21 June 2011 | Weekdays, 18h25


Col. Steve Austin

Dr. Rudy Wells

Oscar Goldman

Celeb Birthdays

TVSA Central Feed

Read more at TVSA Central

Send this page to a friend

Friend's email address
Your name


You browser doesn't have Flash, Silverlight, Gears, BrowserPlus or HTML5 support.