You are here:   Home  >  Shows  >  Season Page

Idols (Afrikaans)

- Season 1 -
Show Rank
1082 of 3124
You have not rated this show
TVSA Show Rankings
You must be a registered member of TVSA in order to rate a show

Show Details

Broadcaster: DStv 
Show Genre: Reality

Show Summary

This search for the next Afrikaans singing sensation premiered on DSTV's kykNET channel on May 28, 2006.

The competition was won by Dewald Louw from Bloemfontein.

Keeping the same format as the international version of Idols, Afrikaans-speaking hopefuls from various South African cities put their singing talents to the test, firstly by performing for the show's three official judges and then for audiences who voted for their favourites.

All auditionees could sing in any language of their choosing up until they reached the Top 100, after which they had to sing in Afrikaans only.

The judges for this version were: singer, songwriter and producer Mynie Grove, music and media manager and promoter Deon Maas and singer, song-writer and playwright Taliep Petersen.

The show was hosted by Sean Else from the boyband Eden and the season was 12 weeks in total, culminating in the finale on Sunday 27 August 2006.

Louw won the following prizes:

  • A recording contract with Sony BMG

  • A Peugeot 206

  • R50,000 from the ATKV

  • A Shure microphone

  • R3200 worth of prizes from Look &Listen

  • A laptop computer

  • A gift pack from Truworths valued at R10,000

The Top 32 - chosen on Sunday 18 June 2006 - were as follows:

Jacobus Wyngaard (19) from Grabouw
Danelle de Vries (26) from Paarl
Jay Theron (24) from Durbanville
Genene Winnaar (25) from Belhar
Samantha Brill (16) from Bryanston, Johannesburg
Henrico Harnoster (25) from Windhoek
Valeska Smith (23) from Randburg
Emil Struwig (17) from Tsumeb
Jay Cee Krause (24) from Pretoria
Jaco Labuschagne (28) from Secunda
Klarina Jansen (27) from Centurion
Kevin Jacobs (24) from Bishop Lavis
Nadine Jansen from Vuuren (17) Koffiefontein
Wendell Reed (26) from Macassar
Peter Barnard (20) from Stellenbosch
Tracey-Lee Oliver (26) from Johannesburg
Willem Botha (19) from Riversdal
Christiaan Kritzinger (23) from Pretoria
Tanja Badenhorst (23) from Hermanus
Bernice Breedt (19) from Alberton
Nelda Janse from Rensburg (21) from Witbank
Joslin Pieterse (21) from Mosselbaai
Carlo de Goede (22) from Parow
Kevin Douglas (24) from Uitenhage
Rebert Roodbol (25) from Pretoria
Tania Wiese (24) from Windhoek
Thiro Moshosho (19) from Otjiwanrongo
Dewald Louw (19) from Bloemfontein
Eugene Julies (19) from Eersterivier
Lizaan Vermeulen (18) from Garsfontein
Crushanda Forbes (18) from Kimberley
Alzonia Titus (19) from Groot-Brakrivier

Show Trivia

News Stories

Taliep Petersen Murdered
Bloemfontein's Dewald Louw Wins Afrikaans Idols
Afrikaans Idols: Down To The Last Three!
Afrikaans Idols Whittled Down To Five
Another Two Afrikaans Idols Bite The Dust
First Three Idols Voted Out, Nine Are Left
Afrikaans Idols Judges Add Two To Make It A Top 12
Viewers Get The Vote In Afrikaans Idols Wild Card Round
Two More Afrikaans Idols Hopefuls Reach The Top 10
Afrikaans Idols Voting Will Begin This Sunday
Afrikaans Idols: The Top 32
SA Idols Judge And Family Receive Death Threats

Cast & Characters

Character Actor
Host - Himself Sean Else
Judge - Himself Deon Maas
Judge - Herself Mynie Grové
Judge - Himself Taliep Petersen
Contestant - Herself Crushanda Forbes
Runner-Up - Himself Willem Botha

Related Links

- TVSA Mini-Site
- Reality Forum
- Official Site

Site Activity

fifiza replied to article Wanna Be On Friends Like These
hope leesa replied to article Forbidden Passions Teasers - April 2014
mbalinsele has updated their settings
mbalinsele has updated their About Me info
stshepana replied to article Week 14 31 March - 6 April
Niena replied to article How to audition for 7de Laan

Garfield Morgan (83) RATE
Tim Curry (68) RATE
Gillian Jones (67) RATE
Tony Plana (62) RATE
Cassandra Franklin (50) RATE
Ashley Judd (46) RATE
Jesse G. James (45) RATE
Jennifer Taylor (42) RATE
Dini Nondumo (37) RATE
James Franco (36) RATE
Kate Hudson (35) RATE
Alexis Thorpe (34) RATE
Mayko Nguyen (34) RATE
Catalina Sandino Moreno (33) RATE
Brandon Fobbs (33) RATE
Arno Marais (30) RATE
Kelen Coleman (30) RATE
Harry McEntire (24) RATE