You are here:   Home  >  Shows  >  Season Page


- Season 1 -
Show Rank
Too Few Votes for Ranking
You have not rated this show
TVSA Show Rankings
You must be a registered member of TVSA in order to rate a show

Show Details

Broadcaster: DStv 
Show Genre: Comedy
Season Premiere: Thursday, November 04, 2010
Season Finale: Thursday, December 09, 2010
Time: 21h05 - 21h40

Show Summary

Miranda is a British television sitcom written by and starring comedienne Miranda Hart about a joke shop owner called Miranda whose attempts in life, whether they be dating or simply dealing with her overbearing mother, always seems to fall flat.

The series premiered in the UK on BBC Two on 9 November, 2009.

Miranda premiered in South Africa on DStv's BBC Entertainment channel on Thursday 4 November 2010, at 21h05. See "Seasons" below for seasonal broadcast dates and times.

Season 1 aired on BBC Entertainment from 4 November to 9 December, 2010, on Thursdays at 21h05. New episodes broadcast weekly. There are six episodes in the first season.


Fridays: 01h05
Saturdays: 21h35
Sundays: 02h50

Season 1

It doesn't matter what Miranda attempts in life, whether it's dating or simply dealing with her overbearing mother, she always seems to fall flat, quite literally.

Miranda isn't your average girly girl - at 6'1" Miranda gets called Sir once too often, much to the amusement of her childhood friend Stevie, who manages Miranda's joke shop.

And to top it all off, Miranda's mother Penny is disappointed that Miranda runs a joke shop rather than having a proper job.

Miranda learns to handle tricky social situations when she is invited to Henley, she gets caught playing with toys when left alone in the shop with Gary, which leads to an elaborate cover up story.

Miranda causes an unfortunate scene as she threatens staff at her gym when they refuse to cancel her membership.


Series exclusive to BBC Entertainment

Season 1 (6 episodes)

Premiere: 4 November 2010 | Finale: 9 December 2010 | Thursdays, 21h05

Season 2 (6 episodes)

Premiere: 30 July 2013 | Finale: 3 September 2013 | Tuesdays, 21h35

Season 3 (6 episodes)

Premiere: 1 April 2014 | Finale: 6 May 2014 | Tuesdays, 22h35

Cast & Characters

Character Actor
Miranda Miranda Hart
Stevie Sarah Hadland
Gary Preston Tom Ellis
Penny Patricia Hodge
Tilly Sally Phillips
Clive James Holmes
Fanny Katy Wix
Frumpy Woman Helen Moon
Tangoed Customer Petra Massey
Naval Interviewer Dan Tetsell
Interviewer Geraldine McNulty
Colin Dave Lamb
Customer Dominic Coleman
Hoodie Terence Maynard
Mr. Clayton Peter Davison
Taxi Driver Ewen MacIntosh
Guest Star Doc Brown
Jason Luke Pasqualino

Related Links

- TVSA Mini-Site
- Comedy Forum
- Official Site

Site Activity

arshely replied to article 7de Laan Teasers - May 2014
Nunumsi replied to article Zabalaza Teasers - May 2014
Ntaksay replied to article Generations Teasers - April 2014
MsKim replied to article isiBaya Teasers - May 2014
Mazetmosi replied to article Generations Teasers - April 2014
yOnGaMa replied to article Cruel Love Teasers - May 2014

Shirley MacLaine (80) RATE
Len Goodman (72) RATE
Eric Bogosian (61) RATE
Tim Woodward (61) RATE
Denise Scott (59) RATE
Michael O'Keefe (59) RATE
Glenn Morshower (55) RATE
Alex Corrado (53) RATE
Djimon Hounsou (50) RATE
Cedric the Entertainer (50) RATE
Gregory Sporleder (50) RATE
Stacy Haiduk (46) RATE
Aidan Gillen (46) RATE
Melinda Clarke (45) RATE
Rory McCann (45) RATE
Stelio Savante (44) RATE
Damon Lindelof (41) RATE
Julie Cox (41) RATE
Derek Luke (40) RATE
Noah Danby (40) RATE
Penny Ramsey (39) RATE
Thad Luckinbill (39) RATE
Zola (37) RATE
Eric Balfour (37) RATE
Austin Nichols (34) RATE
Reagan Gomez-Preston (34) RATE
Chris Crary (33) RATE
Kelly Clarkson (32) RATE
Matthew Lotter (30) RATE
Doc Shaw (22) RATE
Larramie "Doc" Shaw (22) RATE