You are here:   Home  >  Master Show Page

Strictly Come Dancing

Show Rank
930 of 3124
You have not rated this show
TVSA Show Rankings
You must be a registered member of TVSA in order to rate a show

Show Details

Broadcaster: SABC2 SABC3 
Show Genre: Reality Competition
Series Premiere: Saturday, February 04, 2006
Series Finale: Wednesday, September 11, 2013

Show Summary

Strictly Come Dancing is a South African reality dance competition television series produced by Rapid Blue and based on the British show of the same name in which celebrities are partnered with professional Latin and Ballroom dancers and must work each week on perfecting a dance routine, with public voting deciding a weekly elimination.

The series was broadcast live from the Carlton Centre Ballroom, Johannesburg for the first five seasons. In Season 6 the venue changed to the Renaissance Centre.

The series premiered in South Africa on SABC2 on Saturday 4 February 2006, at 20h00. After five seasons it was discontinued but in 2013 it was revived on SABC3. See "Seasons" below for seasonal broadcast dates and times.

Season 6 premiered on SABC3 on Wednesday 10 July 2013, at 20h00. New episodes broadcast in a two-hour block (separated by a brief break) weekly. There are 10 episodes in the sixth season.


South African celebrities are partnered with professional Latin and Ballroom dancers and must work each week on perfecting a dance routine.

Each week during a live show viewers are asked to vote for their favourite couple, and one couple (with the least votes) is eliminated.

In the season finale, two couples dance off to win the title and a cash prize (R40,000 in Seasons 3-5 and R50,000 in Season 6). The cash prize was first introduced for the third season.

Through sms voting, viewers vote who should stay and who should go, the results of the poll being combined with the ranking of the panel of judges.

For example: with 4 contestants left, the judges' favourite would receive 4 points, 2nd favourite 3 points, and so on, and similarly with the viewers' rankings. The two scores added together make the final score. Each judge gives the performance a mark out of ten, giving an overall total out of 40.

The show is broadcast live and was hosted by Ian von Memerty and Sandy Ngema for the first five seasons. In Season 6 they were replaced by Marc Lottering and Pabi Moloi.

The judging panel for the first five seasons consisted of Lilian Phororo, Dave Campbell, Salome Sechele and Tyrone Watkins. They were replaced for Season 6 by Michael Wentink, Tebogo Kgobokoe and Samantha Peo.

The dances the celebrities have to learn each week are the Waltz, Viennese Waltz, Foxtrot, Jive, Cha Cha, Rumba, Samba, Quickstep, Paso Doble and the Tango.


A new system called the Dance-Off was introduced in the fourth season. The Dance-Off is performed by the two couples with the lowest scores following the judges' scores and public vote.

After performing their dance again, the judges are asked one-by-one who they would like to save, and the couple with the most votes remains in the competition. If there is a tie, head judge Lilian Phororo has the deciding vote.


Season 1: Zuraida Jardine and Michael Wentink
Season 2: Riaan Venter and Hayley Hammond
Season 3: HHP and Hayley Bennett
Season 4: Emmanuel Castis and Lindsey Muckle
Season 5: Rob van Vuuren and Mary Martin
Season 6: Zakeeya Patel and Ryan Hammond


Season 1 (8 episodes)

Channel: SABC2 | Premiere: 4 Feb 2006 | Finale: 25 Mar 2006 | Saturdays, 20h00

Season 2 (8 episodes)

Channel: SABC2 | Premiere: 5 Aug 2006 | Finale: 23 Sep 2006 | Saturdays, 20h00

Season 3 (8 episodes)

Channel: SABC2 | Premiere: 24 May 2007 | Finale: 12 Jul 2007 | Thursdays, 19h30

Season 4 (8 episodes)

Channel: SABC2 | Premiere: 31 Jan 2008 | Finale: 20 Mar 2008 | Thursdays, 19h30

Strictly Come Dancing: The Story So Far (1-hour special)

Channel: SABC2 | Aired: 25 September 2008 | Thursday, 19h30

Season 5 (10 episodes)

Channel: SABC2 | Premiere: 2 Oct 2008 | Finale: 4 Dec 2008 | Thursdays, 19h30

Season 6 (10 episodes)

Channel: SABC3 | Premiere: 10 Jul 2013 | Finale: 11 Sep 2013 | Wednesdays, 20h00

Main Cast

(For full cast and characters, click Seasons tab at top of page)
Ian von Memerty
Sandy Ehrenreich
Dave Campbell
Salome Sechele
Lilian Phororo
Tyrone Watkins
Marc Lottering
Pabi Moloi
Michael Wentink
Tebogo Kgobokoe
Samantha Peo

Related Links

- Reality Competition Forum

Site Activity

Tiff300 replied to article Muvhango Teasers - April 2014
gkma replied to article Forbidden Passions Teasers - April 2014
Morussia replied to article TV Review Thola
Sbosh girl replied to article isiBaya Teasers - April 2014
vuxy replied to article Muvhango Teasers - April 2014
sexy d replied to article isiBaya Teasers - April 2014

Anita Carey (66) RATE
Billy West (62) RATE
Jay O. Sanders (61) RATE
Ellen Barkin (60) RATE
Michel Gill (54) RATE
Boyd Banks (50) RATE
Jon Cryer (49) RATE
Martin Lawrence (49) RATE
Jeff Varner (48) RATE
James Watson (44) RATE
Belinda Stewart-Wilson (43) RATE
Max Beesley (43) RATE
Valarie Rae Miller (40) RATE
Sean Maher (39) RATE
Lukas Haas (38) RATE
David Lyons (38) RATE
Hayes MacArthur (37) RATE
Christos Vasilopoulos (36) RATE
Gina Carano (32) RATE
Carly Fields (32) RATE
Angelique Gerber (31) RATE
Katy Johnson (26) RATE
Michaella Russell (22) RATE
Liliana Mumy (20) RATE
Poppy Lee Friar (19) RATE
Alina Foley (11) RATE