You are here:   Home  >  Master Show Page

The Crown Gospel Music Awards

Show Rank
611 of 3124
You have not rated this show
TVSA Show Rankings
You must be a registered member of TVSA in order to rate a show

Show Details

Broadcaster: SABC1 SABC2 
Show Genre: Award Shows
Series Premiere: Thursday, December 25, 2008

Show Summary

The Crown Gospel Music Awards is an annual South African awards ceremony organised by World Gospel Powerhouse which honours, celebrates and promotes the talent and accomplishments of the South gospel music industry in the past year.

The inaugural awards were held at the ICC Cricket Arena in Durban on 24 August, 2008 and have been held annually ever since. The awards ceremony is broadcast in a highlights package on SABC1, first airing on Christmas Day 2008. See "Seasons" below for seasonal broadcast dates and times.

The 6th annual Crown Gospel Music Awards took place on Sunday 17 November, 2013 at the ICC Arena in Durban and were broadcast live for the first time on SABC2, from 20h00. They later aired on SABC1 as well. The ceremony was two hours long.

About the Awards

The Crown Gospel Music Awards are a platform to salute and award excellence in the Gospel Music Industry. The Awards are hosted annually with a spectacular event of music and dance.

Winners are given a symbolic crown used as a metaphor for the real crown that Gospel musicians hope to get at the end of their journey – in Heaven.

The Crown Gospel Music Awards concept is a brainchild of Zanele Mbokazi, founder and President of the World Gospel Powerhouse. The idea came about in 2006 and two years later the first ceremony was held in 2008, in the presence of thousands of gospel music loyalists.

After much deliberation, knocking on various doors and endless meetings, the concept of the Gospel Music Awards showed fruition. The name of the Awards had to be chosen. It could have been he SA Gospel Music Awards but the vision was to go beyond RSA borders. Then Reflections Gospel Awards also came up, but something was missing.

Crown Gospel Music Awards sounded aspirational and attainable. The Crown (Umqhele) signifies the ultimate award that will be adorned to all His servants in Heaven on the last day.

The idea was, and still is, to salute the sons and daughters in the gospel music industry under various categories. To date the Awards boasts more than 30 categories.

The winners are awarded a Crown, for their sterling contribution in the gospel music industry.


Season 1

Channel: SABC1 | Aired: 25 December, 2008 | Thursday, 14h30

Season 2

Channel: SABC1 | Aired: 5 December, 2009 | Saturday, 22h15

Season 3

Channel: SABC1 | Aired: 5 December, 2010 | Sunday, 17h30

Season 4

Channel: SABC1 | Aired: 4 December, 2011 | Sunday, 20h00

Season 5

Channel: SABC1 | Aired: 2 December, 2012 | Sunday, 20h00

Season 6

Channel: SABC2 | Aired: 17 November 2013 | Sunday, 20h00
Channel: SABC1 | Aired: 22 December 2013 | Sunday, 22h00

Main Cast

(For full cast and characters, click Seasons tab at top of page)
Thami Ngubeni
Sipho Kaleni
Carol Manana
Kere Nyawo
Thulani Didi
Thembi Seete
Thabo Mdluli

Related Links

- Award Shows Forum
- Official Site

Site Activity

ifydon replied to article M-Net loses with Game of Thrones 4
khanza94 replied to article Supernatural Thriller Replaces Society On SABC1
tha - bang replied to article TV Review Thola
shero replied to article isiBaya Teasers - April 2014
leeshy posted to leeshy's guestbook
charmed_dude replied to article TV Review Thola

Hayley Mills (68) RATE
James Woods (67) RATE
Philip Akin (64) RATE
Rick Moranis (61) RATE
Melody Thomas Scott (58) RATE
Eric Roberts (58) RATE
John James (58) RATE
Jane Leeves (53) RATE
Jeff Dunham (52) RATE
Eric McCormack (51) RATE
Conan O'Brien (51) RATE
Maria Bello (47) RATE
David Hewlett (46) RATE
Mary Birdsong (46) RATE
Fredro Starr (43) RATE
Cristina Coria (43) RATE
David Tennant (43) RATE
Sean Maguire (38) RATE
Kevin Rankin (38) RATE
Derek Phillips (38) RATE
Melissa Joan Hart (38) RATE
Azania Mosaka (37) RATE
Bryce Johnson (37) RATE
David Kau (36) RATE
Kourtney Kardashian (35) RATE
Laura Mennell (34) RATE
Jamie Davis (32) RATE
Lebo Tisane (31) RATE
America Ferrera (30) RATE
Jessica Lu (29) RATE
Tom Hughes (29) RATE
Ellen Woglom (27) RATE
Nicolette Robinson (26) RATE
Alia Shawkat (25) RATE
Britt Robertson (24) RATE
Chloe Bennet (22) RATE
Moisés Arias (20) RATE
Charlie-Rose MacLennan (14) RATE