You are here:   Home  >  Master Show Page

Escape to Chimp Eden

Show Rank
397 of 3124
You have not rated this show
TVSA Show Rankings
You must be a registered member of TVSA in order to rate a show

Show Details

Broadcaster: DStv 
Show Genre: Wildlife/Nature
Series Premiere: Monday, November 03, 2008

Show Summary

Escape to Chimp Eden is an American wildlife docu-reality television series produced by Creative Differences which documents South Africa's Eugene Cussons as he rescues chimpanzees from the horrors of human captivity and gives them a new life in Mpumalanga's chimpanzee sanctuary, Chimp Eden.

The series originally aired in the USA on Animal Planet from 8 February to 9 May, 2008. There are 32 episodes in two seasons to date.

Escape to Chimp Eden premiered in South Africa on DStv's Animal Planet on Monday 3 November 2008, at 14h15. See "Seasons" below for seasonal broadcast dates and times.

Season 2 premiered on Animal Planet on Monday 16 November 2009, at 18h15. New episodes air back-to-back, weekly. There are 20 half-hour episodes in the second season.


(Double episodes)

Mondays: 22h00
Tuesdays: 02h35


Chimpanzee rescuer Eugene Cussons leads liberation missions and brings chimpanzees to safety in Animal Planet's Escape to Chimp Eden.

Cozi and Jao are two of the many residents at the Jane Goodall Institute's chimpanzee Eden. Set in the heart of the Mpumalanga province of South Africa, the sanctuary is a sort of halfway house for chimpanzees rescued from the horrors of human captivity.

Until now, many of these chimps have been forced to endure the insides of tiny cages, physical abuse, malnutrition, abandonment and habitual lack of care.

The chimps find community, safety and nurturing at the hands of the chimp Eden's rescue director, Eugene Cussons, who is set on giving these chimps a life close to what they would have experienced in the wild.

Witness these compelling stories of rescue, recovery, friendship and fraternity unfold as the chimps – one by one – make their "Escape to Chimp Eden".


(All seasons air exclusively on Animal Planet)

Season 1 (12 episodes)

Premiere: 3 November 2008 | Finale: 15 December 2008 | Mondays, 14h15 (double bill)

Season 2 (20 episodes)

Premiere: 16 November 2009 | Finale: 18 January 2010 | Mondays, 18h15 (double bill)

Main Cast

(For full cast and characters, click Seasons tab at top of page)
Eugene Cussons

Related Links

- Wildlife/Nature Forum
- Official Site

Site Activity

Masithe has updated their Favourites info
Masithe has updated their Favourites info
Masithe has updated their Favourites info
tha - bang replied to article M-Net loses with Game of Thrones 4
ifydon replied to article M-Net loses with Game of Thrones 4
khanza94 replied to article Supernatural Thriller Replaces Society On SABC1

Hayley Mills (68) RATE
James Woods (67) RATE
Philip Akin (64) RATE
Rick Moranis (61) RATE
Melody Thomas Scott (58) RATE
Eric Roberts (58) RATE
John James (58) RATE
Jane Leeves (53) RATE
Jeff Dunham (52) RATE
Eric McCormack (51) RATE
Conan O'Brien (51) RATE
Maria Bello (47) RATE
David Hewlett (46) RATE
Mary Birdsong (46) RATE
Fredro Starr (43) RATE
Cristina Coria (43) RATE
David Tennant (43) RATE
Sean Maguire (38) RATE
Kevin Rankin (38) RATE
Derek Phillips (38) RATE
Melissa Joan Hart (38) RATE
Azania Mosaka (37) RATE
Bryce Johnson (37) RATE
David Kau (36) RATE
Kourtney Kardashian (35) RATE
Laura Mennell (34) RATE
Jamie Davis (32) RATE
Lebo Tisane (31) RATE
America Ferrera (30) RATE
Jessica Lu (29) RATE
Tom Hughes (29) RATE
Ellen Woglom (27) RATE
Nicolette Robinson (26) RATE
Alia Shawkat (25) RATE
Britt Robertson (24) RATE
Chloe Bennet (22) RATE
Moisés Arias (20) RATE
Charlie-Rose MacLennan (14) RATE