TopTV, Channel 190
  Soul Train Music Awards Pack

The 2010 Soul Train Music Awards took place at the Cobb Energy Performing Arts Centre in Atlanta, Georgia on Thursday, 11 November 2010 and were filmed for broadcast on BET worldwide.

They air on BET in the US on Sunday, 28 November 2010 and will be broadcast on BET in South Africa (TopTV, Channel 190) on Saturday, 4 December 2010 at 22h00.

The broadcast begins with a build-up show at 21h00, with the ceremony at 22h00.

The awards were first launched in 1987 and tribute the best in black entertainment and music in the categories of R&B, soul, rap, jazz, and gospel.

They've happened annually since 1987, except for in 2008, when they were postponed for various reasons, including the Hollywood writers strike which resulted in the derailing of various shows and ceremonies.

The hosts for this year's ceremony: actors Terrence Howard and Taraji P.

terence_large taraji_large

R. Kelly opens the show.

Also performing are: Ne-Yo, Cee-lo, Keyshia Cole, Rick Ross, Erykah Badu, Eric Benet, Chrisette Michele, Lalah Hathaway, Faith Evans, Janelle Monae, Gyptian, Freddie Jackson, Jeffrey Osborne, Tamia; and Tank.

These are the nominees ...

Best New Artist

Melanie Fiona
Nicki Minaj

Best R&B/Soul Artist Female

Alicia Keys
Erykah Badu
Mary J. Blige

Best R&B/Soul Male

Trey Songz

Song Of The Year

"Everything to Me" - Monica
"There Goes My Baby" - Usher
"Un-Thinkable (I'm Ready)" - Alicia Keys
"Soldier of Love" - Sade
"Nothing on You" - B.o.B feat. Bruno Mars

Album Of The Year

Alicia Keys- The Element of Freedom
Usher - Raymond v. Raymond
Sade - Soldier of Love
Drake- Thank Me Later
Erykah Badu - New Amerykah Part Two: Return of the Ankh

Record Of The Year (Songwriter's Award)

Fantasia - "Bittersweet"
El DeBarge - "Second Chance"
Drake - "Find Your Love"
R. Kelly - "When a Woman Loves"
Alicia Keys - "Un-Thinkable (I'm Ready)"

Best Dance Performance

Rihanna - "Rude Boy"
Ne-Yo - "Beautiful Monster"
Usher - "OMG"
Janelle Monae feat. Big Boi - "Tightrope"
Ciara - "Ride"

Best Hip Hop Song

Eminem feat. Rihanna - "Love the Way You Lie"
Rick Ross feat. Styles P. - "B.M.F. (Blowin' Money Fast)"
Nicki Minaj - "Your Love"
Drake - "Find Your Love"
Big Boi feat. Cutty - "Shutterbugg"
T.I. feat. Keri Hilson - "I Got Your Back"

Centric Award (Underground R&B/Soul)

Jesse Boykins III
Corinne Bailey Rae
Janelle Monae

Best Reggae Artist

Damian Marley
Mr. Vegas
Jah Cure
Vybz Kartel
Gramps Morgan

Best Gospel Performance

Youthful Praise feat. J.J. Harrison
Fred Hammond
Marvin Sapp
Lisa Page Brooks
Hezekiah Walker & LFC
Tye Tribbett

This year's Legends Awards - the special recognition awards - go to: Anita Baker and Ron Isley
Fast facts

The impression given internationally is that the ceremony only happens on Sunday, 28 November 2010 but the ceremony has already been and most sources are hush-hush about who won so as not to spoil the first TV broadcast.

The 2009 Awards were also hosted by Terrence Howard and Taraji P.

Beyoncé was last year's biggest winner, winning in the catgeories Best Female Artist, Song of the Year and Album of the Year.

The Awards will be rebroadcast on TopTV on Sunday, 12 December 2010 at 22h00.

Replies: 1
You must be a TVSA member to post a reply
Reply from: Sobza Monday, November 22, 2010 18:47 PM
I will check the rebroadcast on the 12th, I will nt be home on the 4th. 04.12.TVSA is the reason

Latest Blog Entries

RSS Feed






Blog Stats

Total Views: 22794
Total Replies: 35

Site Activity

Ellesgee replied to article Days of our Lives Teasers - April 2014
Ellesgee replied to article Days of our Lives Teasers - April 2014
Ellesgee replied to article Scandal Teasers - April 2014
Ellesgee has updated their About Me info
Mash 2010 replied to article Ghostmance to premiere on Telemundo
dumella replied to article Muvhango Teasers - April 2014

Nina Foch (90) RATE
George Takei (77) RATE
James Gammon (74) RATE
Ryan O'Neal (73) RATE
Michael Brandon (69) RATE
Gregory Itzin (66) RATE
Veronica Cartwright (65) RATE
Jessica Lange (65) RATE
Geraint Wyn Davies (57) RATE
Nicholas Lyndhurst (53) RATE
Andy Serkis (50) RATE
Crispin Glover (50) RATE
Gérard Rudolf (48) RATE
Lara Jill Miller (47) RATE
J.D. Roth (46) RATE
William deVry (46) RATE
Shemar Moore (44) RATE
Carmen Electra (42) RATE
Elizabeth Jarosz (41) RATE
Julie Fernandez (40) RATE
Joey Lawrence (38) RATE
Alex Angarita (36) RATE
Clayne Crawford (36) RATE
Nicole Davids (32) RATE
Joanne King (31) RATE
Tim Jo (30) RATE
Billy Magnussen (29) RATE
John Patrick Amedori (27) RATE
Ashton Moio (22) RATE
Martine Loxton (14) RATE